The original Methodist Episcopal Church in Lebanon opened its doors in January 1832, at our present location. The construction and opening of the church building represented a culminating event for the growing group of Methodists in Lebanon, which dated back to the early 1800’s. The first “Lebanon Methodist Class" was founded in the Hardy Hill neighborhood by a local preacher, with regular Camp meetings and smaller gatherings held at the homes of individual members. The congregation has been blessed with strong leadership throughout its long history. Our ordained ministers, the lay leadership and individual members have provided capable leadership for our church over the years.
The rich heritage and community presence of the Lebanon United Methodist Church was gravely threatened in February 1992, when our church building burned to the ground. Despite deep pain and sorrow, there was a solid determination to continue our mission as a congregation and rebuild the church.
The church’s investment in the surrounding community was rewarded by support and encouragement from the Upper Valley communities and beyond. During our two years without a church home, Lebanon’s Masonic Lodge welcomed us into their hall for our worship services. Finally, on March 6, 1994, the new sanctuary was opened with a deeply moving consecration service.
The Lebanon United Methodist Church is a living, dynamic presence in the Upper Valley community. We seek to live out the United Methodist slogan: “Open Hearts. Open Minds. Open Doors.” To that end, in September 2007, after a year-long dialogue, we voted to become a Reconciling Congregation, and adopted a statement of inclusion for all people. Inspired by strong faith in God’s love and the teachings of Jesus Christ, our members serve in many ways, reaching out to people locally and around the world, and embracing all God's children, regardless of economic status, ethnicity, sexual orientation, gender identity and expression, or any other human-made distinction.